Some features about Australian Football League (Part 2)

Let’s discover some main features of AFL through season, club and score


The AFL season begins with the NAB Challenge before the season, followed by 23 home turf and rotation, which runs throughout the winter from March to September. The top eight teams then continue to compete in a four-week final in the September, leading to two top teams then battling with MCG to decide the champion. The winning team receives a first-class silver trophy and blue navy prime minister’s flag, and their victory is recorded on EL Wilson Shield permanently. Each player is also awarded a prime minister medal.


There are 18 clubs in AFL from five different states: Adelaide, Port Adelaide (South Australia); Brisbane, Gold Coast (Queensland); Carlton, Essendon, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Geelong, North Melbourne, Melbourne, St Kilda Richmond, Western Bulldogs (Victoria); Fremantle, the West Bank (Western Australia); and Sydney Swans, Greater Western Sydney (New South Wales). The majority of the clubs are Victoria, including the game’s oldest club, Melbourne, dating from 1858. In contrast, the youngest team in AFL, Greater Western Sydney, played their first round in 2012.

Each club has both a premium roster and a rookie player, with a total of approximately 45 players per team. Each week 22 players are selected for playing in the game, of which 18 allowed on the field when the remaining four set to sit on the bench.


Any player on the field can score a goal by kicking the ball through the milestones. There are four articles placed at the ends of the yard; The higher posts are the target posts, written by two shorter posts called behind the posts. A goal, equivalent to six points, is awarded when the ball is played through two intermediate cards, while a single point, or after, is awarded when the ball passes between an outer and middle card.